Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara, Nepal


In 2007, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has launched the Quality Assurance and Accreditation (QAA) program as an important aspect of reform in higher education in Nepal. The QAA has been taken as a mission of improving quality of education in Nepal. In order to accomplish this program, the UGC has formed a Quality Assurance and Accreditation Committee (QAAC) for the development and implementation of QAA activities in higher education in Nepal. The QAA Division in UGC has been established to facilitate QAAC and to perform regular activities related to QAA.

On 14 February 2014 (2 Falgun 2072 BS), Prithvi Narayan Campus submitted the Letter of Intention (LoI) to the UGC to participate in the process of QAA system of its institution. Based on the analysis of the documents submitted by the campus, the UGC has issued a letter of participation for eligibility to participate in the process. The campus has now started working in the QAA system of its institution. In the letter, the UGC has also instructed the campus to work on the preparation of Self-Study Report (SSR).

In order to fully participate in the QAA process and get its benefits, the campus has formed 3 committees to work on the QAA system of its institution. The functions and terms of working period of working bodies are as follows:

  1. Internal QAA Committee: This committee is the governing body of the QAA process of Prithvi Narayan Campus, which makes policy to work on the process and monitor the progress of the QAA process. The committee is valid until the campus gets its accreditation from the UGC.
  2. Self-Assessment Team (SAT: This team is to visit the institutions which have received accreditation from the UGC and prepare a self-study report. The report will be submitted to the QAA Division of UGC for the certificate of accreditation. The team will prepare the report in 3 months, starting from the formation of the team. This team will be under the Internal QAA Committee.
  3. EMIS Team: This team prepares a data system of higher education institution called Education Management Information System (EMIS) and publish a booklet. This includes a framework of indicators, tools and modality for annual data collection, regular data updating, analysis and reporting. The system will support progress monitoring of higher education institutions as well as higher education status of the country in general. The EMIS reports and performance progress reports are prepared annually. The team will continually work on the reports. However, the first report will be published within 3 months of deadline given the Internal QAA Committee. This team initially be under the Internal QAA Committee and work independently after the dissolution of the Internal QAA Committee.


  1. To work on the QAA process of its institution, including the EMIS report and allow them to start the work.
  2. To make policies regarding the functioning and working towards the QAA system of its institution and monitor their progress.

Formation Methods
The standing committee of the campus has decided on the members of the committee and working teams for the QAA/EMIS system of Prithvi Narayan Campus. The following members have been appointed to work on the QAA process and EMIS report.

  1. Internal QAA Committee:
    Chair – Prof. Dr. Chandra Bahadur Thapa (Campus Chief)
    Member Secretary – Dr. Min Pun, Coordinator, QAA/Reform Unit
    Member – Prem Lal Baral, Administrator, Employee’s Administration
    Member – Chiranjivee Thapaliya, Acting Associate Finance Controller, Financial Administration
    Member – Kishor Subedi, Librarian Officer, Western Regional Library
    Member – Kedar Nath Adhikari, Administrator, General Administration
    Member – Dr. Ram Jeevan Yadav, Lecturer, Department of Chemistry
    Member – Durga Sharma, Lecturer, Department of Environmental Science
    Member – Sushila Gurung, Section Officer, Academic Administration
  2. Self-Assessment Team (SAT):
    Coordinator – Dr. Min Pun
    Member – Dr. Ram Jeevan Yadav, Lecturer, Department of Chemistry
    Member – Dr. Girdhari Dahal, Lecturer, Department of Political Science
    Member – Radha Devi Sharma, Lecturer, Department of English
    Member – Resham Sharma, Faculty of Management
    Member – Khim Raj Subedi, Head, Department of Education
    Member – Khagendra Raj Poudel, Lecturer, Department of Geography
    Member – Ramji Gautam, Lecturer, Department of Zoology
    Member – Shreekrishna Panthi, Lecturer, Department of EPM
  3. EMIS Team:
    Coordinator - Dr. Min Pun, Faculty at Dept of English
    Member - Hom Bahadur Thapa
    Member - Rajendra Subedi
    Member - Chandra Bahadur Khadka


Related Links:

Dr. Min Pun
QAA/Reform Unit

Prithvi Narayan Campus, Tribhuvan University
Pokhara, Nepal

Email: [email protected]

EMIS: The PNC 2015/16 Report

Download the Report