Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara, Nepal

Department of Political Science

The classes for Political Science (as Civics at the Certificate Level at that time) at PN Campus were started for the first time with the establishment of Prithvi Narayan Inter College in 2017 BS. The Diploma Level (equivalent to BA Degree today) was introduced in 2019 BS and the Master of Arts (M.A) in Political Science was launched in 2050 BS.

To date, the following faculty members of the department have served the department as Head:

  • Raj Bahadur Singh
  • Ganesh Bahadur Gurung
  • Jayadev Lekhak
  • Surya Ratna Shakya
  • Dhruba KC
  • Tara Nath Baral
  • Padmasharan Regmi
  • Dhruba KC
  • Dr. Uma Nath Baral (recently)

Awards and Scholarships

  1. The Political Science Surya Ratna Shakya Foundation – 2060: The department has set up an awarding body to encourage its students in pursuing courses in Political Science. In 2060 BS, the “Political Science Surya Ratna Shakya Foundation” was founded in financial support of the then Head and faculty member of the department. Mr. Shakya has funded the foundation with a fixed amount equivalent to US $ 6000.
    The major purpose of the foundation is to award the topper students of Political Science in the Master of Arts (MA) who secure minimum of first division. The foundation also awards those individuals who contribute in the field of education or social services in every period of two years. Apart from these awards, the foundation also supports in conducting seminars, workshops and talk programmes, and publishing research journals related to Political Science.
  2. The Sher Bahadur Gurung and Purna Kumari Gurung Trust – 2060: This is a trust funded by Ganesh Bahadur Gurung who is the former faculty member of the department and was set up in memory of his late parents with a fixed amount equivalent to US $ 4000. The trust aims to award each topper student of the Master of Arts (MA) in Social Sciences subjects like Political Science, History, Geography, Sociology, Economics and Population Studies at PN Campus.

Dr. Uma Nath Baral
Department of Political Science
Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
Prithvi Narayan Campus (Tribhuvan University)
Bhimkali Patan, Bagar
Pokhara, Nepal
Phone: +977-98460-50739
Email: [email protected]

The Faculty Members Directory

S.No.NameTitleAdmin TitleCV
1. Dr. Uma Nath Baral Associate Professor Dept. Head
2. Than Bahadur Chhetri Associate Professor
3. Bhim Nath Baral Lecturer
4. Gajendra Prasad Chowai Lecturer
5. Kamal Raj Poudel Lecturer
6. Kapil Mani Dahal Lecturer
7. Dr. Girdhari Dahal Lecturer
8. Girdhari Subedi Lecturer
9. Madhav Raj Banstola Lecturer
10. Krishna Prasad Timilsina Lecturer
11. Hasta Bahadur Thapa Lecturer