Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara, Nepal

Department of Physics

The science teaching was started at PN Campus in 2019 BS for the Intermediate of Science (I.Sc), which was started with 5 students, but that was started in Bhadra and terminated in Paush in the same year. The programme was restarted in Bhadra 2024 BS with 10 students in the Science Building which was newly built with financial support of the Nepal government in 2022 BS. In the beginning, Dr. Aleyamma John was given the responsibility to handle the course in Science though she had the degree in Zoology. After some time, Collin Smith (Putali Baje) taught Science for a few months and then Krishna Kant Benarji was hired for the post who frequently headed the Department of Physics for more than 4 decades.

The Science Laboratory was established with financial support of UNESCO in 2024 BS. The Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) programme was began in 2044 BS. Now, the department has more than 35 faculty members and 7 administrative staff. Recently, Kul Prasad Dahal heads the department.

The department in collaboration with Nepal Physical Society – Western Regional Chapter, it has started publishing a Physics journal named “The Himalayan Physics”, which is regularly published on the annual basis since 2009. The journal includes research articles produced by the faculty members of the department. The department also conducts seminar/workshops, talk programmes, and conferences occasionally.

The following are the former faculty members of the department who were the Head in the department:

  1. Krishna Kant Benarji
  2. Pabitra Mani Paudyal
  3. Namo Narayan Yadav
  4. Kul Prasad Dahal
  5. Surya Bahadur G.C.
  6. Kul Prasad Dahal
  7. Parashu Ram Poudel (recently)

Benimadhav Dhungana
Department of Physics
Institute of Science & Technology
Prithvi Narayan Campus (Tribhuvan University)
Bhimkali Patan, Bagar
Pokhara, Nepal

The Faculty Members Directory

S.No.NameTitleAdmin TitleCVCV_Link
1. Kul Prasad Dahal Associate Professor CV
2. Surya Bahadur GC Associate Professor CV
3. Ramsajila Verma Associate Professor CV
4. Parashu Ram Poudel Associate Professor CV
5. Beni Madhav Dhungana Associate Professor Dept. Head CV
6. Dorik Narayan Yadav Lecturer CV
7. Min Raj Lamsal Lecturer Asst. Campus Chief CV
8. Mitra Mani Subedi Lecturer CV
9. Dr. Khadka Bahadur Chhetri Lecturer CV
10. Jivan Regmi Lecturer CV
11. Lakpa Ksering Gurung Lecturer CV
12. Baburam Sharma Lecturer CV
13. Thakur Prasad Acharya Lecturer CV
14. Rabi Karki Lecturer CV
15. Dipak Adhikari Lecturer CV
16. Prem Raj Poudel Lecturer CV
17. Chhabi Kumar Shrestha Lecturer CV
18. Shree Kanta Subedi Lecturer CV
19. Resham Poudel Lecturer CV
20. Ujir Gurung Teaching Assistant CV
21. Surya Mohan Tiwari Adjunct Faculty CV
22. Ram Prasad Subedi Adjunct Faculty CV
23. Rajan Poudel Chhetri Adjunct Faculty CV
24. Arjun Poudel Adjunct Faculty CV
25. Ek Narayan Bhandari Adjunct Faculty CV
26. Santosh Karki Adjunct Faculty CV
27. Prakash Chandra Regmi Adjunct Faculty CV
28. Surendra Adhikari Adjunct Faculty CV
29. Dhakaram Poudel Adjunct Faculty CV
30. Hari KC Adjunct Faculty CV
31. Santosh Thapa Adjunct Faculty CV
32. Arjun Banstola Adjunct Faculty CV
33. Dr. Kapil Adhikari Adjunct Faculty CV
34. Suman Gautam Adjunct Faculty CV
35. Arjun Prasad Chapai Adjunct Faculty CV
36. Indra Raj Shakya Adjunct Faculty CV
37. Sushil Adhikari Adjunct Faculty CV
38. Kamal Raj Poudel Adjunct Faculty CV
39. Ruku Banstola Adjunct Faculty CV
40. Samita Malla Adjunct Faculty CV
41. Satya Narayan Adhikari Adjunct Faculty CV