Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara, Nepal

Department of History & Culture

The History course teaching at PN Campus was started in 2018 BS. Mahendra Singh Thapa was the founder faculty member for teaching History course and solely continued teaching it until 2022 BS when Balbir Singh Negi joined the campus to teach the History course for the Bachelor of Arts (BA) students. In 2036 BS, the course in Culture also annexed to the Department of History and Tulasi Man Tapol was the first faculty member to teach Culture subject. In 2050 BS, the Master of Arts (MA) in History was introduced for the first time in the department.

While there were only 6 faculty members to teach the History course and 2 faculty members to teach the Culture course in 2042 BS (at the time when the campus was celebrating its Silver Jubilee), there were 16 faculty members for History and 3 faculty members for Culture at the time when the campus was celebrating its Golden Jubilee in 2066 BS.

Mahendra Singh Thapa served the department as Head until 2053 BS and after him Balbir Singh Negi was the Head of the department until 2058 BS. Prof. Gunakhar Jaisi became the Head of the department on 3 Mangsir 2058 BS. Now, Prof. Dr. Dil Bahadur Chhetri heads the department.

The department regularly publishes a research journal named Historia. Apart from the publication of the journal, the department frequently organizes seminar/workshops and talk programmes for its faculty members and students.

Basanta Prasad Parajuli
Department of History & Culture
Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
Prithvi Narayan Campus (Tribhuvan University)
Bhimkali Patan, Bagar
Pokhara, Nepal
Phone: +977-61-576837

The Faculty Members Directory

S.No.NameTitleAdmin TitleCV
1. Rashmi Devaju Associate Professor
2. Jyoti Bhattachan Associate Professor
3. Dr. Radha Kumari Bhandari (G.C.) Associate Professor Dept. Head
4. Shree Ram Ghimire Associate Professor
5. Dr. Dirgha Man Gurung Associate Professor
6. Basanta Prasad Parajuli Associate Professor Asst. Campus Chief
7. Arjun Bahadur Bhandari Associate Professor
8. Chandra Kanta Poudel Lecturer
9. Manju Basnet Teaching Assistant
10. Narayan Prasad Dhakal Teaching Assistant
11. Laxman Shrestha Teaching Assistant
12. Ganga Laxmi Gurung Teaching Assistant