Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara, Nepal

Department of Education

The Department of Education was introduced in the Faculty of Education with a view to fulfill the Faculty’s mission and to produce teachers of school level. The department has been conducting various teachers’ trainings since it has got its formal recognition of the teaching committee, which is known as the department now.

The Department of Education at PN Campus was established in 2028 BS as the Primary Teacher Teaching Centre. At that time the purpose of the centre was to train/teach the eighth, ninth and tenth grade passed pre-serviced and in-serviced trainees. After the implementation of the National Education System Plan (NESP) in higher education in 2030 BS, the purpose of the centre was to train the primary and lower secondary level teacher on the subjects like Education, Educational Psychology, Art, Music, Material Construction, Evaluation System, etc. In 2032 BS, the Teaching Instruction Committee was formed and the first chairperson of this committee was Gajendra Bahadur Pradhanang. After that Ghanshyam Marsani, Govinda Prasad Joshi, Tirtharaj Parajuli, Kamal Ratna Shakya, and Karna Bahadur Thapa were the Chair of the department at different times. After 2042 B.S. the name of the Teaching Instruction Committee was changed as the Department of Education that continues to date. After 2042 BS, Govinda Prasad Joshi, Tirtharaj Parajuli, Prem Bahadur Rai, and Narayan Basnet have served as Head of the department and recently Dhruba Raj Khanal has been working as Head of the department since 2060 BS.

All compulsory subjects related to Education for the Bachelor’s and Master’s Level courses have been offered by the department. In 2060 BS, the Master’s Level (M.Ed.) in Educational Planning & Management was introduced and the M.Ed. in Curriculum & Evaluation was introduced in 2063 BS in the department. Apart from the courses for the Master’s Level, the department has offered the courses related to education for the 1 year B.Ed.

Currently, 20 faculty members are working as faculty members. Among them, 3 are permanent, 5 are on contract basis, and 12 are on part-time basis. The members of the department are involved in different subjects such as research work, thesis supervision and other courses related to education. There are more than 400 students have completed their Master's level degree up to now.

Resham Bahadur Subedi
Department of Education
Faculty of Education
Prithvi Narayan Campus (Tribhuvan University)
Bhimkali Patan, Bagar
Pokhara, Nepal
Phone: +977-9846067987

The Faculty Members Directory

S.No.NameTitleAdmin TitleCV
1. Khim Raj Subedi Lecturer
2. Resham Bahadur Subedi Lecturer Dept. Head
3. Jyoti Prasad Regmi Lecturer
4. Shakuntala Pangeni Lecturer
5. Ram Maya Rana Adjunct Faculty
6. Keshav Sharma Adhikari Adjunct Faculty
7. Sanjib Raj Khanal Adjunct Faculty
8. Tek Nath Poudel Adjunct Faculty