Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara, Nepal

Department of Economics

The Department of Economics is one of the oldest departments in PN Campus under the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, Tribhuvan University. The department is the pioneering department to introduce the Master's Level Programme for the first time in the campus, which was started in 2035 BS. Now, the department has 27 faculty members: 1 Professor, 10 Associate Professors, 8 Lecturers, 2 Teaching Assistants and 6 others as adjunct faculty members.

The department has extended its research activities and journal publications after starting the Master's Level Programme. Currently, 12 faculty members are engaged in the Master's Level Programme. Among them, 2 have received Ph.D. degrees. The department has offered 15 courses at the Master's Level Programme that comprises of 8 compulsory courses and 7 optional courses including the dissertation writing. The students of Master's Level programme would be awarded with a Degree in Economics upon the successful completion of the courses offered during the academic session of two years.

Economics is taught preferably in the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, Faculty of Management, Faculty of Education, and even in the Faculty of Law recently. The department also publishes a research journal entitled Economic Literature annually and regularly.

It is also noteworthy that all the faculty members of the department are qualified for teaching at the department, engaging the students in the learning process more vigorously that increases their attention and focus. Each year, the maximum number of students the department can receive each year for admission into the Master of Arts (MA) in Economics is 100.

The department also provides scholarships to those students who make excellent records during their study at the department. The following 2 scholarships are available for students who opt for Economics as Major at Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes.

  • The Krishna-Bharati Scholarship:
    The former faculty member of the Department of Economics, Krishna Nanda Neupane has helped establish the “Krishna-Bharati Scholarship” in the department in 2066 BS. The Chairperson of the Trust is both husband and wife (Krishna Nanda Neupane and Bharati Neupane). From this scholarship, top 2 students (1 boy and 1 girl) of Bachelor’s Level have been awarded since 2068 BS. The students who would take Economics as a major subject and pass the final examination of Tribhuvan University would be awarded with this scholarship. The main objective of the scholarship is to encourage students for taking Economics as their future career and to initiate them to pursue degree in Economics.
  • The Foundation Care for Nepal Scholarship:
    This scholarship is provided by the Foundation Care for All – Netherlands since 2067 BS with the cooperation of Care for All Nepal, Kaski.


The department regularly publishes a research journal entitled Economic Literature on the annual basis.

Economic Literature

Prof. Dr. Lekhanath Bhattarai
Department of Economics
Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
Prithvi Narayan Campus (Tribhuvan University)
Bhimkali Patan, Bagar
Pokhara, Nepal
Phone: +977-98460-84092

The Faculty Members Directory

S.No.NameTitleAdmin TitleCV
1. Dr. Lekha Nath Bhattarai Professor Dept. Head
2. Ganesh Prasad Gautam Associate Professor
3. Mahendra Ale Lecturer
4. Shanta Koirala Lecturer
5. Rajendra Bahadur Devkota Lecturer
6. Krishna Kumari Pahari Teaching Assistant
7. Sabitri Devi Regmi Adjunct Faculty
8. Rajendra Prasad Subedi Adjunct Faculty
9. Buddhi Raj Sharma Adjunct Faculty
10. Nabin Chandra Adhikari Adjunct Faculty
11. Dipendra Bastakoti Adjunct Faculty
12. Saraswati Acharya Adjunct Faculty
13. Yashoda Gautam Adjunct Faculty
14. Basanta Shrestha Adjunct Faculty
15. Bhola Nath Aryal Adjunct Faculty
16. Binod Tripathi Adjunct Faculty
17. Gayatri Paneru Adjunct Faculty
18. Gobinda Pun Adjunct Faculty